Center for Gaming Research
UNLV home
University Libraries Home
World Series of Poker: A Retrospective
Summary of 1988 Tournament
Notable Players
Amarillo Slim Preston
Ken Smith
Stu Ungar
Charles Dunwoody
Bobby Baldwin
Sam Petrillo
Jack Straus
Chip Resse
Bill Smith
Perry Green
Doyle Brunson
Roger Moore
Tom McEvoy
Jay Heimowitz
"Puggy" Pearson
Dewey Tomko
Carl Cannon
Sandy Stupak
Howard Andrew
Crandall Addington
Gene Fischer
Bob Caffonie
Robbie Geers
Mark Rose
Rod Peate
John Fallon
Carl Mc Kelvey
Johnny Moss
Donnacha O'Dea
Scott Mayfield
R.R. Pennington
Hamid Datmachi
John Squatty
Mike Harthcock
George Huber
Berry Johnston
Betty Carey
Jack Keller
Barbara Freer
Frank Henderson
Gabe Kaplan
Sam Moon
Grand Prize Winner: Johnny Chan $700,000

Runners Up: Eric Seidel $280,00, Ron Graham $140,000
Humberto Bremnes $77,000 T. J. Cloutler $63,000,
Jim Bechtel $ 49,000, Quinton Nixon $ 35,500,
Mike Cox $28,000, and Jesse Alto $ 21,000.
Notes on Play

May 16th

One hundred and sixty seven poker players entered the WSOP championship game for a chance at $1,670,000 pot and the title. Only one hundred and four players made it through the first day of play.

May 17th

One hundred and four poker players swiftly became thirty-six poker players.

May 18th

Thirty-six players entered the third day of the tournament out of one hundred sixty seven. Two Former WSOP Champs made it to the third day: defending Champ Johnny Chan, and '84 Champ Jack Keller.

Jack Keller did not survive through the third day of the tournament.

Johnny Chan would find himself with five poker players to enter the final day of play.

May 19th

Johnny Chan was seeking to do what had not been since 1981; a back-to-back championship run.

At the end of the day, it came down to two players: Eric Seidel and Johnny Chan.

These two players went head to head and a record was set in WSOP history, when Chan lost single biggest hand:


The game came to a head after the $1,204,000 hand.

Chan | Seidel

Q High | Straight Two Q

Chan emerged the victor and the fourth person to win back-to-back titles.

WSOP Index | Horseshoe History | Benny Binion | Annual | Galleries | Writings| More Resources | About

© 2001-2007 University of Nevada Las Vegas
All site content is copyrighted material and may not be reproduced without prior permission.

Questions? Contact the appropriate person.






This page last updated Friday, 08-Apr-2022 11:31:30 PDT