Center for Gaming Research
The Gaming Hall of Fame

2008 Hall of Fame

Gambling has a long and fascinating history, but it's only recently that those in the profession have chosen to honor their colleagues with exemplary careers with election to the Gaming Hall of Fame.

Induction into the Gaming Hall of Fame is the highest honor accorded by the gaming-entertainment industry.  Each year, two or more individuals who have distinguished themselves through significant contributions to the gaming-entertainment industry receive this honor. 

Created in 1989 with the induction of gaming industry legends Warren Nelson, Jay Sarno, William Harrah, Grant Sawyer and E. Parry Thomas, the Gaming Hall of Fame now holds more than 60 members, including such industry giants as William Boyd, J. Terrence Lanni and Steve Wynn. 

The AGA solicits nominations from its members, and then AGA staff and members of the Board of Directors confer to make the final selections.

Over the years, the Hall of Fame’s mark of distinction has been expanded in recent years to include culinary visionaries and entertainment legends, such as Wolfgang Puck, Frank Sinatra, Wayne Newton, Debbie Reynolds, who have helped shape the American gaming industry. 

This exhibit chronicles the lives of those who have been inducted into the Gaming Hall of Fame. Browse the list below and click on a specific inductee to learn more about the fascinating people who have shaped the gaming industry's evolution.

Photo: 2008 inductees (left to right)-- Bob Arum, Bernie Goldstein, Don King Emeril Lagasse

2018 2017    
2016 2015 2014 2013
2012 2011 2010 2009
2008 2007 2006 2005
2004 2003 2002 2001
2000 1999 1998 1997
1996 1995 1994 1993
1992 1991 1990 1989

2007 inductees (left to right): Gary Loveman, David Copperfield, Clifford Perlman, Michael Mina, John Wilhelm, Frank Fahrenkopf

2007 Induction